Ooohhh, Sugar!

“You are my candy giirrrll! And you’ve got me wanting youuu!”

Sorry, the title of the blog got me singing that so I figured it would only be fair if I torment you with it also. You’re welcome.

Today’s post is about… surprise, surprise… sugar! That evil yet sexy little addiction that almost all of us have or have had at some point. And let’s face it, sugar IS an addiction.

ad·dic·tion:

compulsive need for and use of a habit-forming substance, characterized by tolerance and by well-defined physiological symptoms upon withdrawal; broadly : persistent compulsive use of a substance known by the user to be harmful.

Now don’t get me wrong, I’m not at all comparing a sugar addiction to a drug or alcohol addiction. I’m simply saying that if we’re going by the literal definition of the word, it can be considered a harmful substance when used compulsively. And that goes for anyone. Even the withdrawal part is the same for sugar. I know alot of people who get pretty darn hot and bothered (and NOT in the sexy way) when they don’t have their daily dose of the stuff.

Recently, I discovered organic coconut palm sugar. The research on it shows that coconut sugar is considered to be one of the best natural sweeteners. It is totally natural, coming straight from the flower buds of coconut trees and there is no added chemicals nor any additives whatsoever needed in making it. Also, coconut Sugar has high mineral content. It is a rich source of potassium, magnesium, zinc and iron. In addition to this it contains Vitamin B1, B2, B3 and B6. When compared to brown sugar, Coconut Sugar has twice the iron, four times the magnesium and over 10 times the amount of zinc. And, in my opinion, it tastes the best!

I don’t consume alot of sugar in my diet. The only thing I use it for is my teas. And if you know me at all, you know I loves my tea! Especially with black teas (blackcurrant being my fave right now), I need a little sweetness added to it. And the coconut sugar adds a rich and yummy flavor to MY personal daily addiction, tea.

Here is a nutrition chart, comparing coconut sugar to other popular sweeteners:

nutrition data

Compared to all other sweeteners, I believe coconut sugar to be the tastiest and best choice. That being said, any sugar in high doses is going to be bad news bears for you so please be aware of the quality and quantity of what you’re putting in your little ol’ self.

Stay sweet, my lovely blog readers! Wink.

xoxo

Becky

 

Leave a Reply

