This post is a must read to any and all vegan/vegetarians!
Gelatin. It’s a silent little terror that you may not be paying attention to in your diet. If you’re a meat-a-saurus, then this won’t bother you in the slightest, I’m sure. But as a vegan, I was horrified to find out that many of my used to be favorite treats, are filled with gelatin. Gummy bears, Jello, Jello SHOTS. All things like that. . It is commonly used as a gelling agent in food, pharmaceuticals, photography, and cosmetic manufacturing. It’s even hiding in your vitamins or pain meds! Try to find capsules that are vegetarian. I knew that these things had gelatin in them, obviously, but I never really thought about what gelatin actually was or how it was made. Then I researched the heck out of it when I decided to go veggie-saurus. I was shocked.
Gelatin is a mixture of peptides and proteins produced by partial hydrolysis of collagen extracted from the skin, boiled crushed horn, hoof and bones, connective tissues, organs and some intestines of animals such as domesticated cattle, chicken, pigs, and horses. Food-grade gelatin is produced mainly from two raw materials, beef skin and pork hide. Photographic and pharma grades of gelatin are generally made from beef bones, although some beef bone gelatin is used by the food industry. Gelatin is an animal protein unlike many other gelling agents used by the food industry.
There are many alternatives to gelatin you can find that are vegan/vegetarian friendly, so no worries there.
I’ve attached the Wikipedia link to gelatin, and I highly recommend that you give it a read. Especially if you’re a vegan or vegetarian.
It’s very important to know what you’re putting into your body. Please be aware and do your research 🙂