The Non-Hunger Games

What happens when an already thin person, loses their appetite? That’s what I’ve been experiencing.

Over the last few months, I’ve been noticing that my hunger has become less and less. I wake up, not hungry. I go through my day, not hungry and at night I’m (you guessed it) not even close to feeling the hunger I should be feeling. Regardless off this feeling, I do eat of course. I just don’t get any satisfaction from it. And have you ever forced yourself to eat when you simply don’t want to? It’s an awful feeling.

Now, there are some days when my appetite is there, but when you’re a thin thang’ like me, and when you workout/run/get your yoga on as much as I do, you need fuel. I’m just not craving any type!

Sometimes, a diet change can turn your body upside down. I went vegan and gluten free, pretty much all at once and I suspect that has been a factor in the lack of appetite and weight loss. I’m a person who doesn’t need to lose weight though, but I need to be GF and chose to be vegan, so it’s a double edged sword.

I read an article recently that said a lack of appetite, or decreased hunger, is one of the most troublesome nutrition problems one can experience. Although it is a common problem, its cause is alot of times, unknown.

To be honest, I think stress has alot to do with it. Our bodies know when our minds are overwhelmed, and act accordingly. I’m trying hard to take some me time these days though. Focus on myself and my own well being. Which sometimes, is the best thing you can do for yourself.

xoxo

Becky

2 thoughts on “The Non-Hunger Games

  1. This is actually not bad. Food is fuel and you are putting good fuel in. This helps your body achieve better fitness. I have gone through the lack of appetite before and I know it will happen again. As long as you keep track of the nutrients and are sure you re getting the essentials, you re fine. There are not right answers, there are experts who will tell you a lot of different things but you are the one who lives in your body and you are the best expert on what you need. Keep going, you are doing fine. (Processed foods are engineered to have the effect of generating desire and cravings for more. Not having that craving is a good thing.)

Leave a Reply

