Challenge Accepted

Image

I’ve been on a bit of a hot yoga kick the last little while. I bought a two week pass to a studio near my place, that I hadn’t tried before. I’ve gone every morning for the last 9 days. One of those days was at a different studio, a Bikram one, but I much prefer the new one I found. Bikram is great if you’re looking for a challenging workout, but in my opinion it doesn’t do much for your mind or soul. It does a heck of alot for your body though! But I look for more than just a good workout in my practice.

So far, every teacher at my new favorite studio is amazing and different in their own unique way. It would be difficult for me to choose a favorite instructor, as they are all lovely 🙂 Even the one guy, he’s lovely too. Haha.

I’ve challenged myself to go to a class as often as I can and also continue my practice at home. It’s already been rewarding to me, in so many ways. Not only do I attend a 90 minute, hot yoga power class every morning, but I walk to and from the studio. And I’ve noticed that walking to the studio, my mind is racing with so many things and it feels very heavy. But when I’m walking back after my practice, my mind is clear. Light. Peaceful. And that’s a wonderful feeling.

I’ve been setting the alarm every morning and leaving for my class as early as I can. Even when I don’t get much sleep the night before, I still push myself up and out the door. Mike sent me a wonderful text while I was in class this morning. It read:

“I’m proud of you for doing the yogas sweetie, even when you’re not feeling great and tired. For reals.”

That simple little text, brought tears to my eyes. It made me feel like I was on the right track, and the fact that I’ve made him proud means so much to me. I know I’ve made so many other people proud as well, and that means alot also. More importantly though, I’ve made myself proud of, well, myself.

My yoga teacher training course begins in just a few weeks, and I know it’s going to be hard. It’s going to be intense. It’s going to challenge me.

And I’m ready for it. Rawrr.

xoxo

Becky

Leave a Reply

